Skip to content

Model Behavior

May 15, 2013

Lately, I feel like I have been less than patient.  In fact, I have lost my temper and few times.  I have even thrown a tantrum or two.

A few weeks ago I was having a really bad day.  Enough times has past that the details are hazy, but I know that it was one of the top ten bad days in my motherhooding.

The last straw was when my i-phone was dropped in the bath tub.  I lost it.  I stomped, I screamed and I tried to cry, but tears wouldn’t come.  It was kind of an out of body experience where I realized how ridiculous I looked but I just couldn’t hold it in any longer.  As I was apologizing to my five year old about my behavior, he said, ” Yeah mom, you need to go eat some chocolate and read some books about being a good mom.”  I just laughed.  He was so right. I realized that in everything I do, I am teaching my kids.  If I allow myself to freak out, what are my kids learning?  I certainly don’t want them stomping and screaming around the house.  I need to model good behavior and show them how to handle frustrating situations without losing it.  I want to teach them to laugh and make the best of hard situations.  So, to become the kind of parent I want to be, I need to also work on getting myself to be the kind of person I want to be. And if a good mom eats chocolate, as my little guy indicated  then I’ve got that part down!  The rest will probably take some time.

080

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

growingintomom

becoming is a process

